Google Photos looking for a way to hide photos from others on your phone can use the app’s native Lock Folder feature. It lets you hide pictures and videos in password-protected spaces. This will allow you to hide your media content when someone is viewing photos and videos saved on Google Photos or any other app on your phone. You can also move existing photos to a lock folder in Google Photos to protect them with your device’s screen lock.
Introduced in May, Lock Folder was initially available as a feature exclusive to Google Pixel phones. However, Google announced in late October that the feature would be rolling out to all Android users in the future. It will reach iOS users early next year.
Pictures hidden in locked folders won’t appear in the Google Photos grid, Memories, Search, or Albums. You also won’t be able to find them in any of the other installed apps that can access your regular photos and videos.
In this article, we’ve detailed the steps you need to take to set up a locked folder to hide your photos in Google Photos.
How to Set Lock Folders and Hide Your Pictures in Google Photos
Before starting this tutorial, it’s important to note that the experience is currently limited to Google Pixel 3 and later models. So, if you have an eligible device, you can go ahead and follow the steps below to set up the Lock Folder feature on Google Photos to hide your photos. Make sure you have the latest version of Google Photos installed on your phone.
go library > utility then click Set up locked folders.
Google Photos will now show you a screen detailing the characteristics of the Lock Folder feature.tap Set up locked folders continue.
Now, use the current device’s screen lock option (which can be fingerprint unlock, pattern, alphanumeric password, or numeric PIN) to set up a locked folder.
After successfully following these steps and completing the setup, you can click move item options. This will show you all the media content available on your device.
After you select a picture to move to Locked Photos, you’ll get a prompt that highlighted moved items will no longer be backed up or shared, and won’t appear in your Google Photos grid, Search, and other apps.You can continue with your selection by clicking move.
It’s worth pointing out that pictures you hide in locked folders won’t be backed up or shared through Google Photos. Additionally, someone with access to unlock the device’s screen can unlock the locked folder on the app and view hidden media files.
Pictures saved in locked folders can also be accessed by selecting them in the folder and clicking move button.
For the latest tech news and reviews, follow TechnologyShout Twitter, Facebook and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and technology, subscribe to our YouTube channel.
Xiaomi Soundbar 3.1ch teaser, will be equipped with wireless subwoofer, 430W output