Google Meet provides a series of new features for its free and Workspace users, designed to make it easier for you to control meetings. The search giant mentioned that the new features are highly requested by its users. They include the ability to add up to 25 co-hosts per meeting, new review and security features, and updated quick access settings. It is worth noting that Google also mentioned that not all users can use all functions.
Google announced through an article on its Workspace blog that Google Meet users will be able to grant the right to host meetings with up to 25 co-hosts.This can be done by granting these users control over the host people Control panel. All co-hosts can access and utilize the controls available to the host.
Hosts and co-hosts can now restrict who can share screens, send chat messages, mute all participants with one click, end everyone’s meetings, and control who can join the meeting and how to pass Quick access set up.
when Quick access After the setting is turned on, participants from the same domain can automatically join the meeting through the mobile or desktop Google Meet client and dial in. Quick access The setting will be turned on by default. However, if you turn it off, participants will have to wait for the host to join the meeting, only invited participants can join, and others must be granted permission to join—and anonymous users will not be able to join the meeting.Finally, with Quick access Closed, only the host can dial out the meeting.
The search giant also updated the people panel by adding the ability to search conference participants. This will allow hosts to quickly navigate to users to mute their microphones, remove them from the meeting, or grant them co-host permissions. The security shield icon can be used to identify co-hosts.
Google Meet on Android and the web will gradually roll out updates starting on August 16th, and iOS users will get these features starting on August 30th.
Auditing and security controls are available to all Google Meet users. Except for individual Google Workspace users and individual Google account users, all users can use the quick access settings.
Similarly, the Quick access Google Workspace Essentials, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Business Standard, Business Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Standard, Education Plus and teaching upgrade customers can use the setting function. However, it does not apply to Google Workspace Business Starter, Frontline and Nonprofits, and G Suite Basic and Business customers.